Soft Baked Pretzels

12Oct09

I’m kind of in love with these.

I’ve already made them 3 times, and I want to make them today (to stave off my sugar baked goods cravings), but it’s just too hot. I’m hating the hot. (If it was cold, I’d be hating the cold, too. I’m a total room temperature junkie.)

IMG_5429

I love how they taste, I love how they make the kitchen smell, and I love their color in my mouth.

They have more steps than the average recipe, but I think it’s worth it. If it just wasn’t. So. Hot…

Wanna make them for me?

IMG_5434

Soft Pretzels (from Baking Illustrated) (makes 12)

  • 1 t instant yeast
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 1 t salt
  • 3 C bread flour (high protein flour)
  • 1 C warm water
  • 3 T baking soda
  • 2 T coarse salt
  1. Mix together yeast, honey, salt, flour and water in the bowl of a standing mixer. Using the dough hook, knead at low speed until smooth and very stiff (5-7 min). DO NOT PUT THE BAKING SODA IN THE DOUGH! It’s for later.
  2. Place dough in a lightly oiled bowl and turn the dough to coat with oil. Cover with plastic wrap, let rise until doubled 1-1 1/2 hours. Deflate, recover, and let rise until doubled again, 30-40 minutes.
  3. While the dough is on its second rise, adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 450. Pour 6 C water into a 12 inch skillet (I use my dutch oven) and add baking soad. Stir, cover, and bring to a boil over high heat.  Line a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper and spray generously with cooking spray. Set aside.
  4. Divide the dough into 12 pieces. Roll each peice into a 20 inch long 1/2 inch wide rope. Shape into pretzels by bringing the ends towards the top, cross over, twist, and secure to the opposite edges with a little dab of water.
  5. Using a skimmer or slotted spoon, gently place the pretzels into the boiling water, (top side down) 3-4 pretzels at a time for 30 seconds. Flip the pretzels over and boil for 30 seconds longer. Remove the pretzels, drain well, and place back onto the prepared baking sheets. Sprinkle with coarse salt while the pretzels are still wet. When all 12 are finished, bake in the oven for 12-16 minutes until well-browned.
6 Responses to “Soft Baked Pretzels”

  1. this looks so so so good. I totally started the challenge, today. My neighbor brought over warm pumpkin bread (it has sugar) and I didn’t eat it. I want to REALLY bad but am refraining myself.hard.very hard.

    • 2 Mariko

      Pumpkin bread. I LOVE pumpkin bread. That may be way too hard to resist.
      Jake and Eph ate malasadas right in front of me. Lame!
      You may be one of the few people who don’t really need this challenge ’cause I doubt you eat much sugar anyway. 🙂 But I’m glad to have you as part of the group.

  2. Oh. My. Gosh. These look so good! I *love* soft pretzels. I love how you made them the “real” way, by simmering them in water for just a few seconds. I don’t know why the water treatment makes such a difference, but it does. The pretzel shops in our mall skip this step, and it’s like you’re eating a pretzel-shaped roll 😦

    • 4 Mariko

      Pretzel shaped ROLLS?! What’s the point in that!
      The water is so important. I made some today. You need that chewy edge.

  3. I hope to make these when I get some free time. The pictures are absolutely enticing…makes me want to get in the kitchen right now and bake!

  4. YUM. Just in time for Oktoberfest. Kinda. I will try these this weekend…good excuse to try a fancy salt.

    Have you made bagels? Seems like a similar process. I’ve been wanting to try the recipe mentioned here: http://www.slate.com/id/2216611/pagenum/all/#p2


Leave a Reply

