Almost No Sugar Smoothie (and a contest!)

10Oct09

Well, let’s face it. This smoothie has tons of sugar.

But NONE of it  comes from table sugar. Only FRUIT sugar. And I like it that way.

IMG_6431

My smoothie today actually came out purple, which shows the power of the costco mixed berry pack. Usually it’s green. Why green?

Because I put Vitamineral Green powder in my smoothie. About a tablespoon. Vitamineral Green is definitely the best greens powder out on the market. Not necessarily for taste, but for actual green content. There are no fillers in this greens powder, and it is packed with all sorts of hard to get green plants. It’s also raw, and wheat-free. Not too many of those out there. The best deal I’ve found is here: And you get free shipping too. One bottle this size will last you a few months. I keep mine in the fridge and I use it almost every day. 1-3 Teaspoons in your smoothie (although I recommend starting with less than 1/2 a teaspoon and building up to more because it DOES actually work down in your gut and you can feel it if you start off strong). If you have any digestive problems it really helps. At least that’s been my experience.

Because I’ve been reading the book Spent, I got interested in smoothies for breakfast. I started doing that about 3 months ago. I love it. LOVE. (recipes from Spent HERE.)

The fruit I put in my smoothie changes every day, but my staples are: 1 scoop whey protein powder (vanilla or unflavored, no added sugar), 1 T vitamineral green, and 1/2 C almond milk.

If you’ve never tried almond milk, I have to tell you, I think it tastes way better than soy.

And for fruit I use frozen fruit only. I freeze it  and I buy bags of it from Costco.

No added Sugar Fruit Smoothie:

  1. 1 or combination of frozen fruit to make up 1 C
  • blueberry, mango, strawberry, raspberry, peach, cherry, papaya, acai, or other fruit

2. Add a 1/2 frozen banana to sweeten up your smoothie if you’ve picked more sour fruit. This is the key to no added sugar. If you don’t have banana (or don’t like the taste) put about a teaspoon of agave syrup.

3. Add a small amount of a fattener (or a combination, if you like) like:

  • avocado (1/4 C avo makes your smoothie creamy and delicious), 1 T coconut oil (the flavor is amazing), 1 T almond butter or peanut butter, 1/2 C plain yogurt or 1/4 C yogurt cheese

4. Add 1/2 C almond milk, soy milk, or regular milk. No JUICE. The milks make it much creamier anyway.

5. Add a greens powder and whey protein powder, if you like. This is optional, but I recommend it.

BLEND thoroughly! I usually add a couple of fatteners myself. It will take a few tries to figure out how much smoothie fits into your tallest glass. I like to make at least 2 C and drink it on my way to school. If you use frozen fruit and not too much liquid you don’t need ice cubes.

I think the key here is the fattener. In Spent, Frank Lipman convinced me that your body needs some fat in the morning to get through the day. And it tastes awesome in your smoothie. I found that almond butter especially is amazing to get rid of the slightly funky flavor from the greens powder. Sometimes I throw in a handful of spinach, because you can’t taste that at all (even if it makes your smoothie green).

My current fav recipe for smoothie: 4 frozen strawberries, 1 quarter banana, 1/2 C mango chunks, 1/2 C almond milk, 1 T almond butter, 1/4 C yogurt, 2 t coconut oil, greens powder, whey protein powder. Dee-light-full.

Sooooo, I have a proposition for you. Come up with your most awesome smoothie recipe with no added sugar, and send it to me at cooksthink-at-gmail-dot-com, or post it on your blog and leave a comment here with the link. I will try all of them (provided I can get the ingredients in Hawaii) and I will pick my favorite. If you win, I’ll send you a bottle of agave syrup. Because I love that stuff.

2 Responses to “Almost No Sugar Smoothie (and a contest!)”

  1. I haven’t tried that green mix! I use Amazing Grass – but it has a distinct taste to it that my husband doesn’t like- so it would be nice to get some greens in him if he likes a different brand. – I just normally do the boring old almond milk, amazing grass scoop, and a frozen banana (and a splash of vanilla) – b/c I don’t think the greens taste that great with the berries – maybe this brand will?

  2. Its really very hard to make somebuck online. But with patience and more efforts i can start a post earn my 1st dollar


Leave a Reply

