Pizza Muffins

09Oct09

IMG_6443Who says muffins have to be sweet?

I know the worst part of no sugar is no sugar in the morning. I think pretty much every possible breakfast involves sugar in the morning, unless you’re like me and like to eat leftovers from dinner for breakfast.

Or you’re like me and like bacon and egg and cheese and potato sandwiches (triple fried) from Ted’s. And then you’ll need an entirely different challenge (the stop-eating-Ted’s-sandwiches-or-you’ll-die-from-heart-disease challenge. I need that challenge). Of course, it doesn’t help that after I eat my fried sandwich I usually have to eat two of their plain glazed doughnuts (plain-glazed seems like an oxymoron, doesn’t it?).

So I made some savory muffins with my daughter yesterday. They were extremely healthy and still tasted good. I know. How often does that happen?

And really, with someone this sweet, there’s no need for added sugar.

IMG_6445

Lately I’ve been trying to get Amaya into the nursery rhymes and songs I loved as a kid. I’m worried that those classic ones are being lost over time. You don’t hear many people singing or referring to them anymore. One of her favorites? Do you know the Muffin Man, the Muffin Man, the Muffin Man… Do you know the Muffin Man who lives on Drury Lane?

 Pizzazzy Pizza Muffins (p.s. Do you think making silly names for foods helps kids eat them? Probably does. I just have a hard time doing it) Adapted from Super Baby Food

Preheat oven to 400

  • Combine:
  • 1 3/4 C wheat flour
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 T oregano
  • Combine Wet Ingredients:
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1/2 C bottled tomato sauce (or homemade)
  • 1 C plain yogurt
  • 1/2 C shredded mozzarella (I used about twice this)

Mix the wet ingredients into dry . Pour into greased muffin tins. Place a slice of tomato on top of each muffin, and sprinkle more cheese on the top of the tomato slice. Bake for 20 minutes.

These muffins had a beautiful golden edge and the tomato on top really helped. Next time I make them I’m going to put a dollop of tomato sauce with some cheese in the middle of each muffin too. IMG_6447

2 Responses to “Pizza Muffins”

  1. I love these muffins–I bet they are so tasty. I wonder if they would freeze well for easy snacks/breakfast. I’m going to have to try it 🙂

  2. 2 Mariko

    They DO freeze really well. Except for the tomato on top. You could just put some more tomato sauce on top instead of the tomato, however, and I think that might make them taste even better.


Leave a Reply

