Summer’s Last Chance

28Sep09

IMG_6384A friend and coworker of mine recently stopped me at the grocery store. She came right up, with a large watermelon in her cart, and before any pleasantries came out of her mouth she said, “Watermelon, simple syrup, ginger, and lime.” Then she sighed with the kind of love that only a foodie can understand.

I can’t imagine anything more pleasant she could have said. I immediately went and bought a watermelon and did exactly what she said. And I sighed that same sigh. I brought a bowl of this to a birthday party and the birthday boy (2 years old) couldn’t keep his hands out of it. Okay, so he probably would have eaten it anyway, but I was happy. I’m still convinced that I have happened upon the recipe of the summer.

Summer Watermelon

  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 C water
  • watermelon, 10 lbs or larger (oh, believe me. You’re gonna need it)
  • ginger
  • 2 limes
  1. Make a simple syrup. Heat a saucepan over medium high heat, whisking sugar and water together until combined. Let the mixture come to a slow boil and then remove from heat. Let cool.
  2. Cut the watermelon into cubes and place into a large bowl. Drizzle simple syrup over the watermelon (you can choose how sweet you want it.)
  3. Grate ginger according to taste (I used a few tablespoons). I actually freeze my ginger, and then use a rasp grater. Freezing the ginger makes the ginger easier to grate and less fibrous. I highly recommend it here because you don’t want pieces of ginger– you want a light ginger flavor. Add the ginger to the bowl.
  4. Squeeze the limes over the watermelon.
  5. Toss. I used my hands because you don’t want to squish the watermelon.
  6. Eat.
  7. Sigh.
No Responses Yet to “Summer’s Last Chance”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

