Bahn Mi

27May09

daikonsandwich2I go through long periods of time where I am not eating bahn mi every day, but I wish I were.

The closest bahn mi spot  is about 30 minutes away, so I was so happy to find pickled carrot and daikon at the really FAR farmer’s market. I ate bahn mi for that week, and then the next week I had to battle with myself as to whether I should go to the farmer’s market that is an hour away from me, or 20 minutes. The 20 minutes won out, but left me without my favorite snack.

I finally got myself to make pickled carrot and daikon, and was surprised to find that it wasn’t as hard as I had imagined.

I used my cuisinart to shred the carrots and daikon. This probably would have been way better if I had cut it into matchsticks. I guess that’s what separates me from the real chefs out there. The cuisinart made it a little smaller than I like. I can hardly complain, because one big daikon and some carrots made me enough pickled vegetables to last for a few weeks. I definitely recommend using white vinegar, and not rice vinegar. I read several recipes that seemed to think the two were interchangeable. I made one batch with rice vinegar, and it did not taste right.

Then I set about making myself some bahn mi. I actually did make the french bread. I tried to make it more healthy, so I substituted whole wheat pastry flour. That was my main misstep, beacause whole wheat pastry flour makes the bread a little more wet. It tasted good, but it didn’t have the crispyness I like. I’ve made this recipe before, so I know it’s good with regular white flour.

From what I understand, there are many versions of bahn mi. This is what I made with what I had on hand. I was happy. I’m considering putting an egg on it. For some reason, that sounds good too.

Bahn Mi

  1. Make the meat by frying cubed meat in a little oil. Add fish sauce to taste, and a little soy sauce. I used 2 chicken breasts and about 1/2 tsp fish sauce, and 1/2 t soy sauce, with 6 garlic cloves.
  2. Assemble the sandwich with all the ingredients. While tomato, cucumber, and lettuce may not be necessary, pickled vegetables, cilantro, and hot sauce on french bread ARE ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY.

I have also dipped slices of tofu in a mixture of flour and a sprinkling of salt, then fried it. This makes a very yummy vegan friendly sandwich.

One Response to “Bahn Mi”

  1. 1 Amanda

    I’m looking through your website for dinner ideas. Mostly it’s making me hungry. Anyway, this sounds SO good. That’s all.


Leave a Reply

