Pumpkin and Creme Fraiche Scones

25Jan09

scone-side

I am recently obsessed with both creme fraiche and pumpkin lately, and since I had open containers of both in the fridge, I thought, Why not combine them?

Creme Fraiche, if you’re unfamiliar with its luxury, is basically extremely rich sour cream. I quite like it, but I’ve had mixed reviews from friends. It’s something that gets served on the side of a rich dessert, usually. I decided to bake with it, because A) I had TONS (which never happens), and B) scones with heavy cream and buttermilk usually taste especially good. Add some pumpkin and how could I go wrong?

I think of scones as bready cookies, but for some reason I like to think they’re healthier (which is totally not true, but I like to wallow in self-deception). These turned out pretty moist, which is good because one problem with scones is that they can be very dry. I don’t drink coffee, so there’s no reason for me to want something dry to dunk with.

When you incorporate the butter, you can, if you like, use a pastry cutter which has several thin “blades” shaped like a C and a handle on the top. You just press it in, kind of moving back and forth on the bottom of the bowl. The point is to incorporate the butter without smearing it into the flour like a paste, which will hurt how it rises. It makes little balls of butter which melt as it cooks. Trust me, it makes a difference.

I adapted this recipe from epicurious

Pumpkin and Creme Fraiche Scones

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 C packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 C white sugar (I did add a little more to taste)
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 6 T butter, cut into squares, chilled
  • 1 C chocolate chips
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 C creme fraiche or sour cream
  • 1 1/2 t vanilla
  • 3/4 C canned pumpkin
  1. Heat oven to 350. Whisk flour through salt in a large mixing bowl. Rub in butter with fingertips until the mixture resembles fine meal. Mix in chocolate chips.
  2. Separate 1 egg. Put white aside. Put yolk in bowl with other egg, creme fraiche, vanilla, and pumpkin. Whisk together and then mix in with dry ingredients until combined (don’t over mix).
  3. Grease a cookie sheet and form about 1/4 C of batter into little patties (like cookies!). They don’t expand much so don’t worry about putting them too close.
  4. Beat reserved white until foamy. Brush tops of patties with white, and then sprinkle with a little white sugar.
  5. Bake for about 20 minutes (check periodically) until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Makes about 20.

pumpkin-scones

One Response to “Pumpkin and Creme Fraiche Scones”

  1. 1 stiliano

    Very nice blog, very nice post!!


Leave a Reply

