Sandwich Fetishness Part 2

20Nov08

 

imgp1884

Well, bread wasn’t the only thing I bought from Bale from the farmer’s market.

I nearly squealed with glee when I saw the plastic tub of shredded daikon and carrot pickled in sweet vinegary goodness. Like a kid in a candy store, except I was at a farmer’s market buying vegetables.

I’d been craving Banh Mi for weeks and now I was going to have some, even if it meant I had to make it myself.

Now I recognize that French Imperialism in Vietnam was bad. But the food influence? That was oh-so-good. Banh Mi is a baguette with a mixture of ingredients, most notably the amazing pickley stuff I mentioned earlier. It also is typically loaded with a hot sauce called “sriracha sauce”. The strange ingredient list doesn’t work together intellectually, but the taste just sits together in a perfect way. This is my sweet and salty dream right here.

There are many ways to make Banh Mi, but I prefer to stay away from pate and head cheese. I made my meat in the pressure cooker, but the same results can be had in a slow cooker or even a dutch oven on the stove or in the oven. I generally use my pressure cooker for everything.

Banh Mi

  • baguette (I made my whole wheat french bread with this recipe.)
  • daikon and carrot slaw (you can buy this at vietnamese or korean markets, or you can be a perfectionist and make your own)
  • sliced cucumber
  • chopped cilantro
  • sriracha sauce
  • shredded pork (my recipe follows)
  1. For the pork, sear a pound worth of a lean cut (I use pork loin chops) in hot oil, browning on all sides.
  2. Put a Tbsp of fish sauce, 2 T brown sugar, 3/4 C water, and 1/4 C soy sauce in with the pork. Stir around and heat to a simmer.
  3. Put the lid of cooking pan (pressure cooker is fastest) and cook until meat is falling apart easily. This takes 20 minutes in the pressure cooker at high heat, and then let the pan cool down naturally.
  4. Shred the meat for the sandwich

For Sandwich assembly

  1. Put mayo on the baguette, if desired. Load up with pork, cucumber, daikon and carrot slaw, cilantro, and top with hot sauce.

Enjoy!

No Responses Yet to “Sandwich Fetishness Part 2”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

