Shepherd’s Pie for The Beach

11Nov08

South Beach Recipe Adapted

Yeah, I’ve been doing South Beach. It has seriously dampened my cooking spirits.

My dad told me about this shepherd’s pie over the phone from his South Beach cook book, and it sounded a little weird. Edamame? In a casserole? I was especially saucy because I have been hating this diet. I told him I was tired of eating the same thing every day. Especially eggs for breakfast!!

 I made a few adjustments and I was pleased with the results! I could eat this anytime, and it is a lot healthier than regular shepherd’s pie. Even my husband liked it and he HATES shepherd’s pie. Who does that? What is there to hate? When I served it to him I pretended it wasn’t shepherd’s pie. I said, “Oh, it’s some casserole thing.” And he ate it, with one eye on me the whole time. “Is this shepherd’s pie?” he asked. “Umm, not really. It doesn’t have green beans in it,” I answered, avoiding the subject. “It’s pretty good,” he said. “I’m glad you like it. It’s shepherd’s pie.” HA HA HA. Gotcha. Even my daughter ate a bowlful. Kid friendly! BONUS!

I was especially surprised how similar the cauliflower is to mashed potatoes. I never buy cauliflower because I generally don’t like the texture. Creamed in this way you would have no idea.

Weekday Casserole (serves 6)

(adapted from South Beach Shepherd’s Pie)

  • 1 head cauliflower (about a pound) stemmed and chopped
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 lb extra lean ground beef or turkey
  • 1/2 cube chicken bouillon or 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 zucchini, chopped into small cubes
  • 2 small roma tomatoes, chopped
  • large handful chopped spinach
  • 1/2 C (or a bit more, if you wish) canned pumpkin
  • 2-3 T plain yogurt or sour cream
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/2-1 C grated low fat cheddar cheese.
  1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Steam the cauliflower until very tender. You can also boil it if you like. Let cool a little and put it in the blender (supposedly you can just whip it with beaters, but I had to use the blender for the right consistency–I probably didn’t steam it enough).
  3. In a fry pan and 1 tsp oil, saute onion, garlic, and zuchinni in a little oil until onions are soft, about 5 minutes. Set aside.
  4. Put beef or turkey in pan, saute until browned. Pour off oil or juices.
  5. Add vegetables back to pan and add salt (or bouillon), tomatoes, spinach, and pumpkin. Stir and cook until spinach is wilted.
  6. In blender, add egg yolk and yogurt or sour cream. Add salt to taste. Blend together until the consistency is like mashed potatoes. You may have to scrape the sides of the blender bowl several times. I added a tiny bit of milk at one point as well.
  7. Place the meat mixture in a square 8×8 pyrex or metal pan. Spread cauliflower “mashed potatoes” over the top, covering the mixture. Sprinkle cheese on top of that.
  8. Cook in the oven for 20-25 minutes, until Cheese is melted and potatoes are slightly browned.
One Response to “Shepherd’s Pie for The Beach”

  1. 1 Sonia

    of course like your web site however you need to take a look at the spelling on several of your posts.
    Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to inform the
    truth on the other hand I will surely come again again.


Leave a Reply

