“Chiles Rellenos” Starring: Poblanos

26Oct08

Poblanos are supposedly a mild pepper, but I’ve had rich spicy flavor from more than one chiles rellenos in my lifetime. In NY I bought some poblanos from a small specialty grocer in Brooklyn, and we ate quickly to shorten the time that our tongues and bellies stewed in its heat, and no one ate the top of the pepper.

Cursing my recent commitment to a South Beach Diet, I decided to make some stuffed poblanos. Yes, they did console me, without any tears. These peppers have a smokiness that just loves to lurk in memories of tastes.

If you’re going to roast some poblanos, you’d better get a gas range. I whole-heartedly recommend that you go out and buy a gas range simply to enjoy this recipe. Yes! Get one! NOW! What are you waiting for?

If you’re any sort of cook, this kind of reasoning is completely logical. I myself have avoided moving to a two bedroom apartment simply because I do NOT. WANT. TO. LEAVE. MY. GAS. RANGE. You will have to pry my cold dead fingers from my luxurious kitchen appliance, even if I end up having 10 children. They will just sleep in the living room, happily, because they know I can make chiles rellenos any time I want.

This is the first time I’ve stuffed my chiles rellenos with anything but cheese, and I think it worked out quite well. I’m very sorry I have no pictures of the finished product. It got too dark, and using flash is a sin in the world of food photography. Believe me, they’re beautiful, and you can eat it too. (I accidentally split this pepper too much !!! You should only split it on one side, 1-2 inch slit if possible.)

Chiles Rellenos

  • 4-6 Poblanos Peppers (also called Pasilla at the grocery store)
  • 8 oz. of white, salty mild cheese such as mozzarella, gouda, panela (my fav) cut into 1/4″ rectangles.
  • 1/2 lb ground turkey or beef
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • cumin, salt, and other spices to taste
  • flour
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1 C. corn oil (or vegetable oil)
  1. Roast the poblanoson a gas range (or in the oven on broiler, rotating regularly) so the skin blackens and chars. You must do this quickly or the poblanos will overcook and be difficult to fry later. Place in a bowl or plastic bag and cover for 5 minutes.
  2. Peel the skin off the poblanos. Make a short, vertical slit in the pepper to remove the seeds and membranes, but do not remove the stem of the pepper.
  3. Saute the onions in 1 t. hot oil until lightly browned, then add ground beef or turkey. Saute and cook, adding cumin and salt to taste (cayenne pepper if you desire).
  4. Stuff the peppers with the ground beef mixture and cheese.
  5. Use toothpicks to close the peppers, threading the tip through both sides of the slit. Probably 3-4 toothpicks needed per pepper. Don’t forget to remove them after frying!
  6. Prepare the batter: whip 2 egg whites with 1 t. baking powder until stiff (but not dry). Lightly beat 2 egg yolks and fold into whites.
  7. Heat 1 C oil in a large, deep fry pan over medium heat. When oil is hot, complete the last steps.
  8. Dust peppers lightly with flour before dipping into batter.
  9. Dip into batter and place in fry pan. Fry all sides until golden, turning by the pepper’s stem. You can fry 2-3 at a time, just don’t crowd the pan too much. Each pepper should take 3-5 minutes to fry.

Sauce for Chiles Rellenos

This is a tomato based sauce– I have heard of cream sauces, but I like this one very much and have no desire to change my ways.

  • 2 tomatoes, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 small onion, cut into chunks
  • 1 small anaheim pepper, seeded if you like less heat.
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 handful fresh cilantro leaves
  • salt to taste
  • 1 T corn (or vegetable) oil
  1. Place all ingredients except oil into blender. Blend for 20 seconds, until mixture is fairly liquid.
  2. Heat oil in fry pan, and once the oil is very hot, “fry” the salsa mixture. Cook for a few minutes over high heat, stirring constantly.
  3. Serve with chiles rellenos.

I also served this black bean salsa as a side (since I can’t have any starch, Waaaaah, waaaaaah)

Very simple– this is just canned black beans, diced tomatoes, diced (and seeded) cucumbers, diced onions, cilantro, lime, 1-2 t white vinegar, a little tiny tiny tiny bit of sugar, and 1 T olive oil. Don’t tell anyone I cheated with the sugar. PLEASE. Especially my scale.

3 Responses to ““Chiles Rellenos” Starring: Poblanos”

  1. I love your wordpress template. I love that you finally posted this because I SO needed a break from grading. I love that you have a food blog. Oh, and I especially love your black bean salad picture, total TasteSpotting material. and I’m not loving cookthink these days. It’s getting super boring.

  2. 2 Jill

    It’s so true about these smokey spicey chiles lurking and I’d even say haunting your cravings. Micah opens jars of roasted green chili and spends moments savoring the smell before adding it to just about everything. Good stuff.

  3. We just returned from a family vacation, at Cabo San Lucas Mexico, and I’ve been craving Mexican Food since we got home. I had a wonderful dish of Chiles Rellenos, and can’t wait to try and recreate it at home. Thank you for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

